

2022 Election Update, November 9, 2022

The anticipated "red wave or ripple" turned into a mostly status quo for elections in Minnesota. Democrats won a trifecta, not seen since 2013, holding the Governor's office and majorities in the House (70-64) and flipping the Senate (34-33). Voter turnout was estimated just shy of 61%. Here are the preliminary returns as of 8 a.m. this morning, Wednesday.

Governor. Governor Tim Walz and Lt. Governor Peggy Flannagan were re-elected for another four-year term by nearly an 8-point margin. The race was called by the AP around 10:30 p.m. Polling margins began to close in the weeks before the election garnering some national interest and spending, however, Republicans Dr. Scott Jensen and Matt Birk could not garner enough suburban votes with their crime focus to overtake the Democratic ticket.

Minnesota Senate. Democrats took the majority by one seat 34-33. It came down to the Hermantown/ Iron Range seat (Senate District 3) to determine the majority.

Here are the results of the competitive seats. Incumbent seats:

- **District 14** is a swing district including the cities of St. Cloud and Sauk Rapids. Senate incumbent and college professor **Sen. Aric Putnam (DFL)** held the seat over Rep. Tama Theis (R), who was a five-term House member. Putnam had over 52 percent of the vote.
- **District 35** long time legislator and Anoka chiropractor **Sen. Jim Abeler (R)** defeated Democrat Kari Rehrauer, an educator and Education MN staffer by less than 200 votes. This district in the north metro changed due to redistricting and now includes Coon Rapids, Anoka and Andover.
- District 36, another north metro district altered by redistricting, was one of the most targeted seats with over \$1.3 million in outside independent expenditures. Democrat Heather Gustafson, a high school educator defeated four-term incumbent Sen. Roger Chamberlain (R) with nearly 53 percent of the vote. The district includes White Bear Lake, Lino Lakes, Vadnais Heights, and North Oaks.

Open seats:

 District 3 includes a large area in the northern MN counties of Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake and St. Louis. Hermantown City Council Member and Democrat Grant Hauschild defeated Babbitt Mayor Republican Andrea Zupanich with nearly 51 percent to replace retired independent Sen. Tom Bakk who endorsed Zupanich over Hauschild, an executive director of a healthcare foundation.

- **District 4 Democrat Rob Kupec,** a former television meteorologist, defeated Republican Dan Bohmer with 52.5 percent of the vote. Kupec replaces retired Sen. Kent Eken (DFL).
- District 7 Republican Rob Farnsworth, a special education educator defeated former Nashwauk mayor Democrat Ben DeNucci with 53 percent of the vote. The seat was formerly held by the late Sen. David Tomassoni.
- District 41 covers the Cottage Grove, Hastings, Lake Elmo and Afton areas. Democrat
 attorney and educator Judy Seeberger was elected by just over 300 votes over
 conservative Action4Liberty and Republican candidate Tom Dippel. Dippel beat Rep.
 Tony Jurgens (R) in the primary in August. Jurgens endorsed Seeberger in the last days
 before the election. This is an open seat Sen. Karla Bigham, retired from to become a
 Washington County Commissioner.

Minnesota House. Democrats maintained the majority with 70 seats. Republicans needed five seats to capture the majority but did not move past the current 64 seats.

Here are the key targeted races that were in play for both caucuses to win the majority. Incumbent seats:

- District 3A includes the areas of Ely/Grand Marais/International Falls. Republican Roger Skraba narrowly defeated Rep. Rob Eklund (DFL) by 37 votes. Skraba is a veteran and the Ely Mayor.
- **District 3B Republican Natalie Zelezniker,** long term care advocate defeated Rep. Mary Murphy, the longest serving member in the House at 23 terms by just 35 votes.
- **District 7A** includes the northern areas of Hibbing, Grand Rapids and Nashwauk. **Rep. Spencer Igo (R)** defeated Rep. Julie Sandstede (DFL) with over 53 percent of the vote.
- **District 7B** includes Iron Range areas of Chisholm, Eveleth, and Virginia. **Rep. Dave Lislegard (DFL)** defeated Republican Matt Norri with 51 percent of the vote.
- District 14B incumbent Rep. Dan Wolgamott (DFL), a high school football coach defeated Republican St. Cloud restaurant owner Aaron Henning with nearly 52 percent of the vote.
- District 18A was a rematch in the Mankato/St. Peter area. Former Democrat Rep. Jeff
 Brand, owner of a landscaping business defeated Rep. Susan Akland (R) with 51 percent of the vote.
- **District 32B** includes Blaine and Lexington. **Democrat Matt Norris**, who works for Youthprise, defeated Rep. Don Raleigh (R) by 413 votes. Raleigh was redistricted into this new area that carved out only a small portion of his previous district in Circle Pines.

- **District 35A** in the Anoka/Coon Rapids area **Rep. Zach Stephenson (DFL)** defeated Rep. John Heinrich (R) with over 52% of the vote.
- **District 48B** includes the Chaska/Chanhassen area. **Democrat Lucy Rehm**, Chanhassen city council member, defeated Rep. Greg Boe (R), an environmental services county manager by 417 votes.
- **District 54A** was another rematch in the Shakopee area. **Former Rep. Brad Tabke (DFL)** defeated Rep. Erik Mortensen (R) who was endorsed by the conservative Action4Liberty organization, with nearly 52 percent of the vote. This race also had a Legal Marijuana Now candidate who garnered 5 percent of the vote.
- **District 55A** is in the Burnsville/Savage area. **Rep. Jess Hanson (DFL)** defeated Republican challenger Gabriela Kroetch with 53 percent of the vote.

Open seats:

- **District 35B** in the Andover/Coon Rapids area, **Sen. Jerry Newton (DFL)** who served previously in the House won by 232 votes over Republican Polly Matteson, a special education educator.
- **District 36B** in the Vadnais Heights/White Bear Lake area **Democrat Brion Curran**, who works for a health and human services nonprofit, defeated Vadnais Heights mayor Republican Heidi Gunderson with 53.5 percent of the vote.
- **District 45A** includes the areas of Orono, Minnetrista, Mound and Excelsior. **Republican Andrew Myers**, a small business owner and former Minnetonka Beach City Council member defeated Democrat Lauren Bresnahan with 53 percent of the vote.

Constitutional Offices. Some results for the constitutional offices are still too close to call, but again it looks like Democrats will hold their seats. Attorney General Keith Ellison leads Republican challenger Jim Schultz by 20,853 votes. Auditor Julie Blaha has a slim 8,471 lead over Republican Ryan Wilson. Secretary of State Steve Simon was re-elected over Republican challenger Kim Crockett by 9 points.

Congressional candidates. All incumbents were re-elected to the U.S. House of Representatives: Rep. Brad Finstad CD1, Rep. Angie Craig CD2, Rep. Dean Phillips CD 3, Rep. Betty McCollum CD 4, Rep. Ilhan Omar CD 5, Rep. Tom Emmer CD 6, Rep. Michelle Fischbach CD 7 and Rep. Pete Stauber CD 8.